Mobi Retreat.

Earlier this week, I got on a bus with AB (dear friend and mentor) for eight hours and traveled to a different city for a young leader care retreat / young mobilizers’ gathering.

16325752_1208591879247664_1480898727_o

AB prepared and facilitated our sessions, leaving plenty of room in between for rest. I loved how everything was designed; it was low-key and simple, not at all loaded with information.  We focused on spiritual formation and building community: praying, sharing, and hearing from God together. This was important to me because–while I immensely enjoyed the Christmas/New Year holidays–the whole of December was such a flurry of activity that I didn’t get to reflect very much on the entirety of 2016 and everything that it meant.

I did get my rest this week though, and as a result of the solitude and the space, all the significant threads from 2016 finally came together under one central insight. I’ve had my divine breakthrough. So I feel I can move forward now. I can focus on what’s coming.

16388597_1208591895914329_793781670_o

My highlight from this week, as always, was the people. Catching up with Zoi. Hanging out with like-minded friends. Floating on a lake, as we reflected on the story of Jesus calming the storm. Meeting H. (I could go on–I will write about the important things when I am less sleepy, and just so I don’t forget.)

The people are always my highlight wherever I go, getting to forge and sustain these meaningful connections–often across distances. I am thankful for the chance to spend time together. As AB said, there is transformative power in community, and sitting together being a family can be much more powerful than running a seminar. “Let them be one as We are one,” was Jesus’ prayer. I can only hope for more of these encounters.

It’s going to be a big year.

You know you want to.

